Politicians enlightened by design

The Danish Parliament's Cultural Committee visits Design School Kolding

An award-winnign lamp. A collaboration project with ECCO. A gripping project about the design of relationships.

The Cultural Committee was introduced to a wide varity of activities when the seven members visited the school on Thursday 25 September.

Head of Reasearch Irene Lønne talked about design research, which is still a relatively new field. Prorector Mette Mikkelsen moved the committee members when she talked about designing relationships between volunteers and some of the country's weakest people: the severely handicapped residents at the care home Skansebakken; a project that won the KL Innovation Award. 

Another award-winner, Christian Troels, impressed with his 2012 graduation project, the lamp Mutatio which has just won the Design Award 2014. Finally, the committee members met with two students from Fashion and Communication Design.

The committee's visit to Design School Kolding was part of a two-day visit to notable cultural institutions in Southern Denmark.

The Danish Parliament's Cultural Committee comprises: Flemming Møller Mortensen (S), Anni Matthiesen (V), Marlene Borst Hansen (RV), Troels Ravn (S), Axel Ahrendtsen (DF), Karin Nødgaard (DF), Annette Wilhelmsen (SF).